My very first blog entry (#Javascriptmas)

My very first blog entry (#Javascriptmas)

Well... this is my first entry in my first blog (first time writting all in english) about my first daily Javascript challenge . Too many first times at the same time, right? (i hope the autocorrect works fine).

I´m on a new and challenging path learning to code (Javascript to be precise) from almost a year. On my last job i had to work just a little with HTML and CSS and that piqued my curiosity in the world of programming in a way that i never imagined.

Just so you know, my name is Fernando, i´m from Argentina, i´m 32 and i´m come from an entirely different branch so i had to make a pull request on my life-main folder (bad joke). I come from arts, painting, drawing, tattoing, illustration and so on. But i´m always curious and i love to learn about totally different things. I´m also very self-motivated so... when I find something that piques my interest like this i just have to learn about it.

Recently i came upon this #JavaScriptmas challenges, a 24 days daily challenge from the Scrimba platform. I came to Scrimba while watching some Kevin Powell tutorials on Youtube (Very nice tutorials by the way). So, with at least 9 months of constantly learning and practicing, i though that maybe i was able to do it, besides the fact of being an interesting way to keep the rithm working to solve different problems on a daily basis. Not to mention the opportunity to win a one-year-membership on their learning platform. I´ve never won that kind of prices (maybe because i never participate? hehe) so this is my first contest also. Anyway, the point is that I discovered myself solving algorithm exercises that I couldn't have done a couple of months ago (great!) so this is why i´m really happy and i wanted to share this with you.

The interesting thing here is to note how your brain starts to function on a different way. It´s not just a different language, it´s a way of thinking. I was used to other types of problems or situations in which you get used to solving in "creative" or "artistical" ways. With programming i found a different way equally creative and artistic to face another type of difficulties on a writting-coded-logical-kind-of-way that i´m really looking to understand and integrate to my world. But this is a topic that I would like to develop at another time

So... i wanted to share this challenges, although there are still some in progress. But before that, about my experience with this challenges until now...

  • What i´ve enjoyed the most? The ones that I managed to solve faster. That gave me a bunch of joy because my long study days are paying off and it feels pretty good (after a lot of frustration, obviously). Besides the challenges, i really liked a live stream on Youtube where Alex from Scrimba solved some of the first challeneges while listening some good music and chating with us. Thanks, Alex!

  • My hardest challenge? Number 8: Rolling dice. I had to remember how to integrate js and css, html and to make it work.

  • They ask you if you´re willing to do #JavaScriptmas next year. Of course i do!

I leave you with my list of my solutions from #javascriptmas challenges (to be completed on the next few days):

All my solutions for JavaScriptMas challenges

  1. Candies

  2. Deposit Profit

  3. Chunky Monkey

  4. Century from year

  5. Reverse a string

  6. Sort by length

  7. Count vowel consonant

  8. Rolling dice (Not done yet! u.u)

  9. Sum odd Fibonacci numbers

  10. Adjacent element product

  11. Avoid obstacles

  12. Valid Time

  13. Extract each Kth

  14. Maximal adjacent difference

  15. Carousel (On process)

  16. Insert dashes

  17. Different symbols naive

  18. Array previous less

  19. Alphabet subsequence

  20. Domain type

  21. Sum of two

  22. Extract matrix column

  23. Social media input (Hey! I´ve just started with this one)

  24. Test your agility (Solved with the help of Per, Alex and Dylan on youtube´s christmas eve live transmition. Thanks, guys!)

Have a nice day and Merry JavaScriptmas to all!